Categories Menu

Posted by on Sep 11, 2014 in Announcements, Featured, Main, Tournament News |

Shahil, Yashavishree Win Under-7

7Shahil, Yashavishree Win Under-7
By Arvind Aaron

Shahil Dey of Assam won the 28th National Under-7 Chess Championship at Kolkata. He is the first Assamese player ever to win any National chess title. Shahil lost to the top seed Dev Shah and did well against others to gain 80 Elo points from a single event.

Tamil Nadu’s Yashavishree won the girls’ section on tie-break after scoring the same 9.5/11 as Prathivya Gupta of Delhi. The top finishers will represent India in 2015 World and Asian Youth Chess Championships.

The chief arbiter was M.S. Gopakumar. The event was organised by the Global Chess Foundation and the Kolkata District Chess Association. This event ran from Sep 1-9, 2014.

Final placings:

Open: 1 Shahil Dey (Asm) 9.5/11; 2-3. Dev Shah, Mullick Raahil (both Mah) 9 each; 4-5. Garv Rai (Del), Bharath Subramaniyam H (TN) 8.5 each; 6-10. Prraneeth Vuppala (Tel), Ryan Priyank S, Thrish Karthik (both TN), Aditya Mohanty (Odi), Basak Souhardo (WB) 8 each…138 players.

Girls: 1-2. N Yashavishree (TN), Prathivya Gupta (Del) 9.5/11 each; 3 B Savitha Shri (TN) 9; 4-5. K Sindhusree (TN), R Sri Vidya Sambhavi (AP) 8 each; 6-7. Nungshithoi Ngairanbam (Man), M Pretika (TN) 7.5 each; 8-10. Sinthia Sarkar (WB), M.S. Harshavardhini (Pud), R Tejaswi (TN) 7 each…67 players.