Categories Menu

Posted by on Nov 20, 2016 in AICF News, Slider News, Tournament News |

National Sub-Junior starts; Manish Kumar holds Rathanvel

National Sub-Junior starts; Manish Kumar holds Rathanvel

rathanvel-and-manish-kumarNational Sub-Junior starts; Manish Kumar holds Rathanvel

New Delhi (20 Nov 16) :- 42nd National Sub-Junior and 33rd Sub Junior Girls Chess Championships got off to a surprising start as second seed Fide Master Rathanvel V S of Tamilnadu held by lower seed Manish Kumar of Odhisha in the first round match here at Indira Gandhi Stadium on Sunday.

A total number of 220 players in Open and 110 in girls section from across the country are participating in this prestigious championships. In the open section, top seed International Master Raghunandan K S of Karnataka started his campaign in winning note against Aditya Himanshu Raninga of Gujarat while defending champion and third seed Iniyan P of Tamilnadu also started his title defence in style as he overcame local lad Ritvik Gupta without much struggle.

Meanwhile in the girls’ section, local hope and third seed Vantika Agrawal suffered a minor setback in the opening round as she forced to split the score with Genita Gladys of Tamilnadu. Top seed Arpita Mukherjee of West Bengal started her campaign with a bang as she overpowered her Maharashtra rival Dnynadha N Vitalkar in the first round encounter. Second seed and former World Youth gold medalist Priyanka Nutakki started championship with an easy outing against Bhavya Gupta of Haryana.

Second round of this eleven round Swiss System championship will starts at 0930 hrs on Monday.

Important Results (Round-1)

Open :- Aditya Himanshu Raninga of GUJ (0) lost to IM Raghunandan K S of KAR (1); FM Rathanvel VS of TN (0.5) drew with Manish Kumar of ODI (0.5); Ritvik Gupta of DEL (0) lost to Iniyan P of TN (1); Rahul Srivatshav P of TEL (1) beat Mayank Dewangan of CHAT (0); Samdani Sahil Sagar of GUJ (0) lost to FM Rakesh Kumar Jena of ODI (1); Harikrishnan A.Ra of TN (1) beat Aryaman Bhatia of DEL (0); Raghav Bansal of PUN (0) lost to Arjun Kalyan of TN (1); FM Nitesh Belurkar of GOA (1) beat Chaithanya Ganesh of KAR (0); Garv Rai of DEL (0) lost to CM Arjun Erigaisi of TEL (1); FM Rajdeep Sarkar of WB (1) beat Chakshu Dhannawat of MAH (0); Utkarsh Kumar of JHAR (0) lost to CM Gukesh D of AP (1); FM Mitrabha Guha of WB (1) beat Ishan Sanjay Pagi of GOA (0); Sumit Mishra of UP (0) w/o Hirthickkesh PR of TN (1); Jayakumaar S of TN (1) beat Aadhisan Balakrishnan of PUD (0); Smarth Mittal of HAR (0) lost to Vardan Nagpal of DEL (1).

Girls :- Dnyandha N Vitalkar of MAH (0) lost to WFM Arpita Mukherjee of WB (1); Priyanka Nutakki of AP (1) beat Bhavya Gupta of HAR (0); Genita Gladys A of TN (0.5) drew with Vantika Agrawal of DEL (0.5); Priyanka K of TN (1) beat Subhasmitha Sahoo of MAH (0); Bhavi Bhansali fo CHAT (0) lost to Harshita Guddanti of AP (1); WFM Lakshmi C of TN (1) beat Sharanya Vinayak Adane of MAH (0); Vasundhara P of KER (0.5) drew with Aashna Makhija of MAH (0.5); Meenal Gupta of J&K (1) beat Avni Gupta of J&K (0); Kritika Pal of DEL (0.5) drew with Palkin Kaur of DEL (0.5); Samriddhaa Ghosh of WB (1) beat Mahi Amit Doshi of GUJ (0); Tinaz Dinkoo Mistry of GUJ (0) lost to Toshali V of AP (1); Abhirami Madabushi of AP (0) lost to Vrushti Shah of GUJ (1); Sai Arya Katkar of MAH (0) lost to WFM Bommini Mounika Akshaya of AP (1); Khushi Dharewa of WB (1) beat Padma Prathiba M of TN (0); Arya Ranjan of DEL (0.5) drew with Rajashree Rajeev of KER (0.5).