Georgian GM Pantsulaia wins Delhi International Chess

New Delhi (16 Jan 19) :-Third seed Grandmaster Levan Pantsulaia of Georgia won the 17th Delhi International Chess tournament 2019 after settling for a quick draw with Grandmaster S.L Narayanan in the 10th and final round that concluded here.

It was a seven way tie at the top between Levan Pantsulaia (Georgia), Mosadeghpour Masoud (Iran), Stupak Kirill (Belarus), Amonatov Farrukh (Tajikistan), Diptayan Ghosh, Abhijeet Gupta, and Narayanan.S.L on eight points apiece in the event but Levan was declared the winner based on his better tiebreak.

While Levan got richer by Rs. 6,00,000/- , Mosadeghpour Masoud got Rs. 5,00,000/- and Stupak Kirill took Rs. 4,00,000/- from the total kitty of over one crore one lakh prize money split over three categories.

IM Visakh NR scored his third and final GM norm here. He is all set to become India’s 59th Grandmaster.

There were norms galore at the tournament. International Masters Gukesh D and Visakh NR secured GM norms while Aditya Mittal, Saurabh Ananad, Bharat Kumar Reddy and Neelash Saha scored IM Norms respectively. Bommini Mounika Akshaya of Andhra Pradesh scored a Women’s International Master norm from her performance here. Mounika beat Kamdar Udit in her final round game.

Meanwhile in the ‘C’ group, Bir Kumar of Bihar won the first prize. Scoring 9.5 points out of a possible ten, Bir Kumar stayed a half point ahead of Nischay Sharma of Madhya Pradesh and Rishi R of Tamil Nadu who both tied for the second spot on nine points but the former was declared the runners up based on his better tiebreak.

Final Standings

Rk. Name Typ FED Rtg Club/City Pts.
1 GM Pantsulaia Levan GEO 2597 GEO 8,0
2 GM Mosadeghpour Masoud IRI 2517 IRI 8,0
3 GM Stupak Kirill BLR 2542 BLR 8,0
4 GM Amonatov Farrukh TJK 2621 TJK 8,0
5 GM Ghosh Diptayan IND 2544 Wes 8,0
6 GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2581 Del 8,0
7 GM Narayanan.S.L IND 2575 Ker 8,0
8 GM Ghaem Maghami Ehsan IRI 2533 IRI 7,5
9 GM Predke Alexandr RUS 2620 RUS 7,5
10 GM Tran Tuan Minh VIE 2541 VIE 7,5
11 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. IND 2543 ICF 7,5
12 GM Swapnil S. Dhopade IND 2487 Mah 7,5
13 IM Harsha Bharathakoti IND 2481 Tel 7,5
14 Pranav V U15 IND 2318 TN 7,5
15 IM Gukesh D U15 IND 2497 TN 7,0
16 GM Debashis Das IND 2538 Ori 7,0
17 GM Erigaisi Arjun IND 2548 Tel 7,0
18 IM Visakh N R IND 2486 TN 7,0
19 IM Vignesh N R IND 2461 TN 7,0
20 GM Aleksandrov Aleksej BLR 2582 BLR 7,0
21 GM Rozum Ivan RUS 2589 RUS 7,0
22 GM Movsziszian Karen ARM 2514 ARM 7,0
23 CM Aditya Mittal U15 IND 2251 Mah 7,0
24 IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh IND 2437 Mah 7,0
25 GM Lugovskoy Maxim RUS 2445 RUS 7,0
26 IM Muthaiah Al IND 2406 TN 7,0
27 GM Paichadze Luka GEO 2583 GEO 7,0
28 FM Shailesh Dravid IND 2334 Mah 7,0
29 IM Karthikeyan P. IND 2457 Rlwys 7,0
30 IM Khusenkhojaev Muhammad TJK 2455 TJK 7,0

Photos: David Llada/ Delhi Chess Association