National Teams Championship-2018 Rd.7: PSPB maintains lead

Odisha: Going into Day 4 of the National Teams Chess Championship, being held in KIIT Campus, Bhubneshwar. PSPB continues to show dominance in both Open and Women team categories. With a fine match win over their rivals today, it’s safe to say that other teams are now fighting for the second spot.

Round 7 inauguration: AOCA President IM Shekar Sahu addressing the players.

On board one, PSPB locked horns with AAI. The former seized the match point with 3½: ½. PSPB is the only team fielding four grandmasters on all boards. Surya Shekhar Ganguly, Adhiban Baskaran, and Karthikeyan, Murali scored victories while  G.N. Gopal was held to a draw.

Team AAI vs. Team PSPB
Railway-B defeated LIC
Railway-B beat Bengal Chess-A

Team pairings

Round 8 on 2018/02/13 at 10:00
No. Team Team Res. : Res.
1   Petroleum Sports Promotion Board   Odisha-KIIT :
2   Railway Sports Promotion Board – A   Life Insurance Corporation :
3   Railway Sports Promotion Board – B   Air India :
4   Bengal Chess-B   Airport Authority of India :
5   Bengal Chess-A   Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited :
6   Tamilnadu   Defence Accounts Sports Control Board :
7   Uttar Pradesh   Bihar :
8   Odisha-MCF-2   Odisha-A :
9   Odisha-MCF-1   Assam :
10   Maharashtra-A   Gujarat :
11   Andhra Pradesh   Services Sports Control Board :
12   Odisha-B   Odisha-MCF-3 :
13   Reserve Bank of India   Karnataka :
14   Punjab   Odisha-MCF-4 :
15   Telangana   Odisha-KCA :
16   UP-Kaushambi Academy   Maharashtra-B :
17   Himachal Pradesh-A   Haryana :
18   Himachal Pradesh   spielfrei 2 :

Team Women

Team LIC delivered a tough fight to PSPB. In-form WGM Swati Ghate (LIC) defeated former World Junior Champion Soumya Swaminathan. WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty drew against WGM Mary Ann Gomes. But the 3rd and 4th boards of Team LIC faltered to their higher rated counterparts.  S.Jayaseeli and WFM Bindu Saritha K. lost to IM Padmini Rout and IM Mohota Nisha respectively. PSPB took home the match point with 2½:1½

Team LIC vs. Team PSPB
WGM Swati Ghate (LIC) is in top form with an individual score of 5.0/5 points!

AAI defeated Odisha-KIIT
Air India beat Odisha-MCF-5

Team pairings

Round 6 on 2018/02/13 at 10:00
No. Team Team Res. : Res.
1   Petroleum Sports Promotion Board   Odisha-KIIT :
2   Air India   Airport Authority of India :
3   Tamilnadu   Life Insurance Corporation :
4   Himachal Pradesh-A   Uttar Pradesh :
5   Himachal Pradesh   Telangana :
6   Punjab   Karnataka :
7   Odisha-MCF-5   spielfrei

Official Website