Priyamvada shocks Ivana

Priyamvada shocks Ivana
By Gopakumar

New Delhi (04 May 16) :-  The classical format of Asian Junior Girls championship got off to a surprising start as  former champion Women International Master Ivana Maria Furtado suffered a shock defeat in the opening round from her country mate Priyamvada Karamcheti here at Hotel Park Plaza on Wednesday.

Playing white side of Nimzo Indian defence, Priyamvada capitalized the crucial mistake committed by Ivana in the 34th move to secure victory in 50 moves.   Meanwhile second seed Indian girl V Varshini also got a minor setback as she forced to sign the peace treaty with Maya Yalkanova of Turkmenistan.
In the open category, Indian Grandmaster trio of Aravindh Chithambaram, Karthikeyan Murali and S L Narayanan registered easy victories in the first round against Avik Sarker, Adhithya S and Srijit Paul respectively.  In a notable result, Subhayan Kundu held sixth seed Nima Javanbakht of Iran to a creditable draw.

Important Results (Indian otherwise stated) :-
Open Round-1 :-  GM Aravindh Chithamabaram (1) beat Avik Sarker of Bangladesh (0); Adhithya S lost to GM Karthikeyan Murali (1); GM S L Narayanan (1) beat Srijit Paul (0); Baivab Mishra (0) lost to IM Masoud Mosadeghpour of Iran (1); IM Mousavi Seyed Khalil of Iran (1) beat Hemanth Raam (0); Subhayan Kundu (.5) drew with FM Nima Javanbakht of Iran (.5); FM Karthik V (1) beat Rajesh Nayak (0); Anish Gandhi (.5) drew with Arjun Kalayan (.5); Harsha Bharathakoti (1) beat Rustem Nazarov of Turkmenistan (0); Saksham Rautela (0) lost to Rahul Srivatshav P (1).

Girls Round-1 :-  WFM Vaishali R (1) beat WFM Supreetha Potluri (0); Maya Yalkanova of Turkmenistan (.5) drew with WFM Varshini V (.5); WIM Michelle Catherina P (1) beat Akshaya Nandakumar (0); Albekova Dilyara of Kazakhstan (0) lost to Uuriintuya Uurtsaikh of Mongolia (1); WIM Nandhidhaa P V (1) beat Meghna C H (0); Priyamvada Karamcheti (1) beat WIM Ivana Maria Furtado (0); Harshita Guddanti (1) beat Shanya Mishra (0); Sanskriti Goyal (0) lost to Bala Kannamma P (1); WCM Saloni Sapale (1) beat Krithigga K (0); Senthamizh Yazhini S (.5) drew with WFM Tarini Goyal (.5)