Rajdeep Sarkar Crowned – WFM Varshini Clinches Girls U 17 Title

Rajdeep Sarkar Crowned – WFM Varshini Clinches Girls U 17 Title
Official press release from UKCA

The overnight leaders of 26th National Under 17 Open Chess Championship 2015, WFM Vaishali and Rajdeep Sarkar succumbed to defeat on top 2 boards in the final round of the championship there by enabling other 4 players to tie for the top spot resulting in a 6 way tie between Rajdeep Sarkar, Krishna Teja N, WFM Vaishali, Dhanajay, Karthik V and Kumar B for first place. Based on better tie break score Rajdeep Sarkar emerged as champion, Krishna Teja N first runner up and WFM Vaishali second runner up.

Kumaran B of Tamilnadu defeated Overnight joint leader WFM Vaishali R of Tamilnadu in 44 moves on top board. They opted four knights game.   Karthik V of AP defeated Rajdeep Sarkar of West Bengal on second board. They played Ruy Lopez game and played 57 moves.  Dhananjay of Chattisgarh lost to Al Muthaiah of Tamilnadu on third board while playing Sicilion Accelerated dragon varionation in 57 moves.

Krishna Teja of AP defeated Harikrishna A Ra of Tamilnadu in 60 moves on 4th board.  Defending National Under 17 Girls Champions WFM Varshini V (2105) of Tamilnadu retained the title in Bharath Electronics Officers Club 26th National Under 17 Open and Girls Chess Championship 2015 organized by United Karnataka Chess Association in Association with Bharath Electronic Officers Club, Bangalore and under the auspices of All India Chess Federation at Bharath Electronic Officers Club, Jalahalli Post, Bangalore 560013.

WFM Varshini V and Divya Lakshmi of Tamilnadu played out sicilion Nojdorf game on top board. Higher ranked Varshini drew the game on 27th move to score 10 points.  Vishwa Shah of Maharastra lost to higher ranked  WFM Mahalakshmi of Tamilnadu while playing Kings Indian Attack on second board. The game ended in 31 moves.   Varsha CR of Tamilnadu drew with Toshali V of AP  in 41 moves on third board.

Title of Photo : L-R Toshali, Mahalakshmi,Varshini,Rajdeep,Krishna Teja, Vaishali