Ten Medals in Rapid, Nine Medals in Blitz for India in Asian Youth 2019

The 2019 Asian Youth Chess Championship and Asian Youth Rapid and Blitz Championships, being held in Waskaduwa Citrus Hotel, Sri Lanka.

Hon. MP Manusha Nanayakkara, Hon. Bharat Singh Chauhan, Chairman FIDE Technical Commission, Chairman of the Commonwealth Chess Association, Deputy President Asian Chess Federation and Mr. Lakshman Wijesuriya Vice presidents of the Asian Chess Federation, General Secretary of the Commonwealth Chess Association and Tournament Secretary of Chess Federation of Sri Lanka and other distinguished guests were present at the Opening Ceremony. Over 550 chess players from 23 Asian countries will take part in the competition until April 9, 2019.

In recent years India has all but made the Asian Youth Chess Championships its own and this year was no different as the Indian contingent has won a total of three Gold, eight Silver and eight Bronze in Rapid and Blitz leg of the championship.

WCM Jyothsna L .

Medal Winners in Rapid & Blitz

Name Category Rapid Blitz
WCM Jyothsna L . U-18G Silver Gold
Kolagatla Alana Meenakshi U-08G Gold
CM Shahil Dey U-12 Gold
FM Mitrabha Guha U-18 Bronze Silver
Daakshin Arun U-10 Silver
K Ratna Priya U-12G Silver
Sankalp Gupta U-16 Silver
FM Krishnater Kushager U-18 Silver
Ilamparthi A R U-10 Silver
Priyanka K U-18G Silver
Lakshana Subramanian U-08G Bronze
Arushi Srichandan U-10G Bronze
Adireddy Arjun U-10 Bronze
Sahib Singh U-12 Bronze
Anupam Sreekumar U-12G Bronze
Aditya Varun Gampa U-14 Bronze
FM Om Kharola U-18 Bronze


At the end of the 6th round of the Classical leg of Asian Youth Chess Championship, Sreeshwan of Under 14 boys is in sole lead with 5.5 points and Sankalp Gupta and Moksh Amit Doshi are in Joint lead with 5 points in under 16 boys. In Under 18 boys Mitrabha Guha is in Joint lead with 5 points. Other Indian players points position is given below.

Under 8 girls

Lakshna Subramanian, Aishani Pathak, Kolagatla Alana Meenakshi, Advika Sarupria and Daksha Rudra with 4 points. Anaisha Pinkesh Nahar and Anjana A with 3 points. Tanishka Jain with 2 points.

Under 10 girls

Aswinika Mani and Shefali with 4.5 points. Arushi Srichandran, Shriyana S Mallya, Deebapriya Manna and Indira Priyadharshini with 4 points. Sneha Halder with 3.5 points.

Under 12 girls

Rajanya Dutta with 5 points. Ratnapriya with 4.5 points. Sinthia Sarkar and Tejaswi R with 3.5 points. Anupam Sreekumar and Sai Mahati with 3 points.

Under 14 girls

Dhyana Patel 4.5 points. Kirti Mayur Patel and Tanvi Vasudev Hadkonkar with 3.5 points.

Under 16 girls

Niyata Jain, Bristy Mukherjee with 4.5 points closely following leader with 5 points and Bommini Mounika Akshaya with 4 points.

Under 18 girls

Harshini A with 5 points. Jyotsna and Priyanka with 4 points. Yuti Mayur Patel and Makhija Aashna 3.5 points.

Under 8 boys

Jaivardhan Raj and Rosh Jain with 5 points. Amogh Bisht and Aman George Thomas, Ethan Vaz, Vivaan Vijay Sarogi and Satvik Adiga with 4 points and Ayushman Mohanty with 3.5 points. Shan Purvan with 2 points.

Under 10 boys

Daakshin Arun and Bharadia Yash with 4.5 points. Mayank Chakraborty, Raghu Ram Reddy Seelam, Adireddy Arjun and Rajveer Pinkesh Nahar with 4 points and Illamparithi A R with 3.5 points.

Under 12 boys

Bagwe Gaurang and Dev Shah with 5 points. Mahendra Teja Mekala with 4.5 points. Sahil Dey and Sahib Singh with 3.5 points and Ayush Bhattacharjee with 3 points.

Under 14 Boys

Sreeshwan Maralakshikari with 55 points. Aditya Varun Gampa, Adireddy Tarun and Srikrishnan with 3.5 points.

Under 16 Boys

Sankalp Gupta and Moksh Amit Doshi with 5 points. Kushagra Mohan with 4.5 points. Ajay Karthikeyan and Usthab with 3.5 points.

Under 18 Boys

Mitrabha Guha with 5 points. Krishnater Kushager with 4.5 points. Vatsal Singhania and Panesar Vedant with 4 points. Om Karola and Vaibhav Jayant Raut with 3.5 points and Manish Anto Christiano with 3 points.


Official Website