Victorious Vaibhav Suri and Stany lead the show

National Open Senior Chess Championship 2018

Report by I.A Ganesh Babu S

GM Vaibhav Suri and IM G A Stany jointly lead the Championship with 8.0 point each at the end of 10th round. On the second spot GM Aravindh Chithambaram, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy, GM Bakre Tejas and IM C R G Krishna are in with 7.5 points each.

GM Vaibhav Suri scored an easy victory over GM Anurag Mhamal in 31 moves, as Anurag paid the price for his dubious 12th move b5.

IM Stany put an end to GM Deep Sengupta’s unbeaten run by defeating him in 39 moves. Stany joins the lead with Vaibhav Suri.

In another game involving the remaining two overnight leaders, Tejas Bakre and Aravindh Chithambaram in an equal battle lasting 31 moves.Aravindh and Tejas were joined in the third spot at 7.5 points by Deepan Chakkravarthy who beat G B Harshavardhan and C R G Krishna who defeated the conqueror of veteran campaigner GM Pravin Thipsay.

GM Deepan Chakravarthy vs G B Harshavardhan

GM Pravin Thipsay vs IM C R G Krishna
Two more norms at the end of tenth round. Srijit Paul and Ritviz Parab made their IM Norms.

Srijit Paul of West Bengal (3rd IM Norm)

Ritviz Parab of Goa (2nd IM Norm)


Round 11

Bo. No. Name Rtg Pts. Result Pts. Name Rtg No.
1 4 GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. 2584 8 GM Vaibhav Suri 2589 3
2 7 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 2550 8 IM Stany G.A. 2509 12
3 16 IM Krishna C R G 2464 GM Bakre Tejas 2433 24
4 14 GM Swapnil S. Dhopade 2490 7 7 GM Karthikeyan Murali 2591 2
5 18 IM Vignesh N R 2455 7 7 GM Sengupta Deep 2565 5
6 6 GM Chanda Sandipan 2555 7 7 IM Nitin S. 2450 20
7 22 IM Akash G 2443 7 7 GM Vishnu Prasanna. V 2518 10
8 13 GM Anurag Mhamal 2491 7 7 IM Shyaamnikhil P 2448 21
9 45 Srijit Paul 2298 7 GM Neelotpal Das 2412 25
10 36 IM Rathnakaran K. 2366 GM Venkatesh M.R. 2528 8