deepsenguptaDeep Sengupta Wrests Sole Lead – By Arvind Aaron

Former world Under-12 champion Deep Sengupta of Kolkata emerged as the first sole leader in the South Indian Bank – CMS College National Premier that is taking place at Kottayam in Kerala on December 10, 2014.  Deep Sengupta leads with 4.5 points and is followed by Deepan Chakkravarthy on four points and further below on 3.5 points by Lalith Babu and Sethuraman. Seven rounds remain to be played in this 13-player 13-round all-play-all. December 11, is the free dauy and is also Viswanathan Anand’s birthday.

Deep had been the World Under-12 champion in 2000 and since he had moved from Chakradharpur to Kolkata.  Deep trapped the poorly placed bishop of Swayams to win in 51 moves and wrest a half point lead before the free day. The event runs until December 18, 2014.

In the best game of the round, Sahaj crushed Lalith Babu with a bishop sacrifice to win in 34 attacking moves with the black pieces.  Kunte of Pune crushed Karthikeyan’s Grunfeld defence after the Chennai player went astray on the 16th turn to lose in four more moves.  Deepan Chakkravarthy sacrificed many pieces to pawn storm the white forces. Deepan promoted a pawn and in the end won a nice queen versus rook ending.

The results (round six): Deep Sengupta (PSPB) 4.5 bt Swayams Mishra (Odi) 1; P.D.S.Girinath (Rly) 2 drew with R.R. Laxman (Rly) 2; M.R. Lalith Babu (PSPB) 3.5 lost to Sahaj Grover (Rly) 3; Abhijit Kunte (PSPB) 3 bt P Karthikeyan (Rly) 3; Vidit Gujrathi (PSPB) 3 drew with P Shyam Nikil (TN) 2; V.A.V. Rajesh (TN) 1.5 lost to J Deepan Chakkravarthy (Rly) 4; S.P. Sethuraman (PSPB) 3.5 – bye.