Anurag Stuns Abhijeet Gupta; Stany becomes India’s latest Grandmaster

National Open Senior Chess Championship 2018

Report by I.A Ganesh Babu S

In this thirteen rounds championship, six players GM Vaibhav Suri, GM Aravindh Chithambaram, GM Deep Sengupta, IM Stany G.A, GM Anurag Mhamal and GM Bakre Tejas are in lead with 7.0 points each at the end of 9th round. On the second spot seven players are in with 6.5 points each.

Karnataka’s Stany G.A drew against GM Aravindh Chithambaram to score his third and final GM norm here. He made his maiden GM norm in the 7th Lucopen tournament in Lille, France, in April 2016 and added a second norm in the Gujarat GM tournament in October 2018. He completed all the requirements to become India’s latest Grandmaster. Besides, Stany, FM Niranjan Navalgund and untitled G B Harshvardhan also managed to score IM norms.

Individual encounter between the overnight leaders ended up in a draw. GM Deep Sengupta managed to escape with a draw in a pawn down position in the hands of GM Vaibhav Suri.

IM Stany battled all the way to a 53 move draw with GM Aravindh Chithambaram to gain his third and final GM Norm.

GM Anurag Mhamal caused an upset against GM Abhijeet Gupta to rejoin the leaders at seven points.

GM Bakre Tejas win over GM Vishnu Prasanna made him to join the lead with five other players.

G B Harshavardhan made his first IM Norm by scoring against IM Karthikeyan.

FM Navalgund Niranjan also made his second IM Norm.

Three players who scored norms.

IM G A Stany – 3rd GM Norm (final GM Norm)
FM Navalgund Niranjan – 2nd IM Norm
G B Harshvardhan-1st IM Norm


Round 10

Bo. No. Name Rtg Pts. Result Pts. Name Rtg No.
1 3 GM Vaibhav Suri 2589 7 7 GM Anurag Mhamal 2491 13
2 24 GM Bakre Tejas 2433 7 7 GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. 2584 4
3 12 IM Stany G.A. 2509 7 7 GM Sengupta Deep 2565 5
4 7 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 2550 Harshavardhan G B 2163 66
5 20 IM Nitin S. 2450 GM Swapnil S. Dhopade 2490 14
6 27 GM Thipsay Praveen M 2400 IM Krishna C R G 2464 16
7 25 GM Neelotpal Das 2412 6 GM Karthikeyan Murali 2591 2
8 1 GM Gupta Abhijeet 2597 6 6 IM Akash G 2443 22
9 23 GM Laxman R.R. 2436 6 6 GM Chanda Sandipan 2555 6
10 26 IM Rajesh V A V 2402 6 6 GM Karthik Venkataraman 2527 9