Asian Indoor Individual 04-06: Sasikiran eyes podium finish

Some of the top seeds finally had to square off against each other in the men’s and women’s Standard Individual Chess event of the Ashgabat 2017 5th Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games which is being held in Chess Arena.

Round 4

On board 3, Sasikiran squeezed into a rook ending with four pawns versus three on the kingside against Enamul Hossain (BAN).

Sasikiran went on to win but told ANS his opponent could have held a draw had he prevented white from playing a pawn to h5.

On board 4, Mollah Abdullah Al Rakib (BAN), playing black against Surya Shekhar Ganguly, fianchettoed both bishops and declined to move a central pawn with his first five moves. Ganguly duly advanced c4, d4, and d5, claiming a space advantage he could nurse for the rest of the game.

Ganguly weakened several black pawns, and after the first one dropped in a heavy piece ending, Al Rakib resigned.

In the women’s section, IM Tania Sachdev and IM Vijayalakshmi Subbaraman won against their respective lower rated opponents without breaking any sweat.


Round 5

On board 1, Sasikiran Krishnan drew top seed Quang Liem Le (VIE).

On board 3, Pouya Idani (IRI) defeated Surya Shekhar Ganguly after the latter missed a small combination that led to an inferior rook ending.

In the Women’s event, IM Tania Sachdev held IM Saduakassova Dinara (KAZ) to a draw on Board 3. Whereas, IM Vijayalakshmi Subbaraman crushed her opponent Omurbekova Diana (KGZ) in 35 moves.

Round 6

On board 1 of the men’s competition, Sasikiran Krishnan (IND) looked to build pressure on the f-file against sole leader LU Shanglei (CHN), but LU covered the threats deftly.

Sasikiran had some pressure in the ending, but agreed to a draw.

On board 5, Surya Shekar Ganuguly had a fine victory against IM Nezad Husein Aziz (QAT)

After round 6, IM Tania Sachdev and IM Vijayalakshmi are on a 4 points tally.

With just one round to go in the men’s and women’s Standard Individual Chess events, LE Quang Liem and Tan Zhongyi (CHN) sit in gold medal positions. India’s GM Sasikiran Krishnan eyes for a podium finish as he is taking on IM Annaberdiev Meilis.

The final round 7 is scheduled for Sunday 24 (today) September, in the Chess Arena.

Round 7 on 2017/09/24 at 09.00 AM

Bo. No. Name FED Rtg Pts. Result Pts. Name FED Rtg No.
1 1 GM Le Quang Liem VIE 2739 5 GM Idani Pouya IRI 2566 10
2 5 GM Lu Shanglei CHN 2628 5 4 GM Ganguly Surya Shekhar IND 2665 4
3 13 IM Annaberdiev Meilis TKM 2496 4 GM Sasikiran Krishnan IND 2676 3
4 2 GM Wang Yue CHN 2699 4 4 GM Kazhgaleyev Murtas KAZ 2570 8
5 19 GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2432 4 4 GM Dao Thien Hai VIE 2463 14
6 26 IM Markov Mikhail KGZ 2390 4 GM Vakhidov Jakhongir UZB 2518 11
7 17 GM Mollah Abdullah Al Rakib BAN 2454 GM Jumabayev Rinat KAZ 2602 6
8 22 FM Priasmoro Novendra INA 2411 GM Maghsoodloo Parham IRI 2569 9
9 23 GM Odeev Handszar TKM 2408 IM Khusenkhojaev Muhammad TJK 2455 16
10 7 GM Sadorra Julio Catalino PHI 2574 3 3 IM Ahmad Al Khatib JOR 2305 28


Round 7 on 2017/09/24 at 09.00 AM

Bo. No. Name FED Rtg Pts. Result Pts. Name FED Rtg No.
1 3 IM Saduakassova Dinara KAZ 2444 GM Tan Zhongyi CHN 2509 2
2 1 GM Lei Tingjie CHN 2534 IM Abdumalik Zhansaya KAZ 2428 5
3 6 GM Zhu Chen QAT 2424 4 WIM Vo Thi Kim Phung VIE 2349 12
4 11 IM Vijayalakshmi Subbaraman IND 2358 4 4 IM Khademalsharieh Sarasadat IRI 2433 4
5 7 WGM Hoang Thi Bao Tram VIE 2408 4 4 IM Tania Sachdev IND 2391 9
6 10 WGM Aulia Medina Warda INA 2375 4 4 WIM Shamima Akter BAN 2136 18
7 17 WIM Nadirjanova Nodira UZB 2166 WGM Frayna Janelle Mae PHI 2305 14
8 20 WFM Mendoza Shania Mae PHI 2066 WIM Gong Qianyun SGP 2255 16
9 13 WGM Hejazipour Mitra IRI 2345 3 WGM Geldiyeva Mahri TKM 2132 19
10 8 IM Sukandar Irine Kharisma INA 2397 3 3 WFM Boshra Alshaeby JOR 2012 24

Official Website