Baryshpolets wins Parsvnath tournament

Winner GM Andrey Baryshpolets receving his trophy and winners chequeBaryshpolets wins Parsvnath tournament

New Delhi (16 Jan 15) :- Grandmaster Andrey Baryshpolets of Ukraine won the 13th Parsvanth International Grandmasters chess tournament defeating Deepan Chakkravarthy in the 10th and final round that concluded here.

It was a three-way tie for the top spot and Baryshpolets was followed by Ivan Popov of Russia and Alberto David of Italy who finished second and third respectively on eight points out of a possible ten. Of the three, Baryshpolets went home richer by Rs. 300000/- in the Rs. 3000000/- prize money festival.

Deepan Challravarthy had the consolation of finishing as the best performing Indian as he finished tenth on seven points despite losing the last round game.

Category C winner Vardan Nagpal and Category A winner Andrey BaryshpoletsIt was a tough final day as overnight sole leader Mikhail Mozharov of Russia was outdone by David who won a fine game with black pieces. Popov also had to work hard but eventually prevailed over Van Huy Nguyen of Vietnam.

Top seed Abhijeet Gupta won his last round game against Himal Gusain to end 11th on seven points. After a slump midway in the tournament Gupta recovered a little to win the last three rounds.

As many as five International Master norms were secured in the tournament and the biggest gainer was C R G Krishna who became an International Master post his performance here. The other norms were scored by Aniruddha Deshpandey, Abhishek Kelkar, M Kunal and S Ravi Teja.

The ‘C’ category of the festival was won by young talent from Delhi Vardan Nagpal who won a cash prize of Rs. 1.25 Lakhs for his efforts. Interestingly the second place in this section was also won by local youngster Rishabh Jain who won Rs. 100000/-.

The prizes to the winners were given away by Mr. Ajit M Sharan, Secretary Sports Govt. of India, Air Commodore Mr. G Amar Babu, Air Officer Commanding Air Force Station New Delhi, Group Captain Mr. J Rajendra, Chief Administrative Officer Air Force Station New Delhi,                 Mr. V Hariharan, Hony. Secretary AICF, Mr. Bharat Singh Chauhan, CEO AICF and Mr. A K Verma, Hony. Secretary Delhi Chess Association.

Important Results Round-10 (Indians unless stated) :-  GM Mikhail Mozharov of Russia (7.5) lost to GM Alberto David of Italy (8); GM Ivan Popov of Russia (8) beat IM Nguyen Van Huy of Vietnam (7); GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (7) lost to GM Andrey Baryshpolets of Ukraine (8); GM Abhijit Kunte (7) drew with GM Anton Demchenko of Russia (7); GM Cristhan Cruz of Peru (7.5) beat IM Rathnakarn K (6.5); IM Saptarshi Roy (6.5) lost to GM Nguyen Duc Hoa of Vietnam (7.5); Krishan C R G (6.5) lost to GM Axel Rombaldoni of Italy (7.5); Neelotpal Das (7) drew with Debashis Das (7); Himal Gusain (6.5) lost to GM Abhijeet Gupta (7); IM Shivananda B S (6) lost to GM Sabino Brunello of Italy (7); IM Karthikeyan P (7) beat GM Sahaj Grover (6); GM Ziaur Rahman (6.5) drew with IM Swapnil S Dhopade (6.5); IM Satyapragyan S (6.5) drew with IM N Srinath (6.5); IM Narayanan S L (7) beat IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh (6); IM Prasanna Rao (7) beat Ravi Teja S (6).