Sethuraman, Lalith Babu Join Lead

sethuramanSethuraman, Lalith Babu Join Lead
By Arvind Aaron

Sethuraman and Lalith Babu recorded seventh round victories to join Deep Sengupta in the lead in the South Indian Bank – CMS National Premier Chess Championship that is taking place at Kottayam on December 12, 2014.

Although all three of them are leading with 4.5 points, it is Sethuraman who is having an edge since he has played one game less than the other two.

In the fourth place on four points is Sahaj Grover who won two back to back games. However, Deepan Chakkravarthy who is also on four points had played one game less and could use that to bridge the gap on the leaders.

Sethuraman exploited the exposed black king of Deep to win a rook for bishop with a discovered check to win the game in 48 moves.

Sahaj Grover won a pawn and pushed Kunte into a zugzwang to win the game in 42 moves. In another decisive game, Laxman played passively and lost a pawn. Lalith Babu cashed on the extra material to win with ease and move into joint lead.

Six rounds remain to be played in this 13-player all-play-all. The event comes to a close on December 18, 2014.

The results (round seven): P Shyam Nikil (TN) 3 bt V.A.V. Rajesh (TN) 1.5; P Karthikeyan (Rly) 3.5 drew with Vidit Gujrathi (PSPB) 3.5; Sahaj Grover (Rly) 4 bt Abhijit Kunte (PSPB) 3; R.R. Laxman (Rly) 2 lost to M.R. Lalith Babu (PSPB) 4.5; Swayams Mishra (Odi) 2 bt P.D.S. Girinath (Rly) 2; S.P. Sethuraman (PSPB) 4.5 bt Deep Sengupta (PSPB) 4.5; J Deepan Chakkravarthy (Rly) 4 – bye.