WYCC 2017 Rd.11: Jishita clinches Gold, Arjun and Sakshi get Silver

Jishita clinched Gold in U-14 Girls; Arjun and Sakshi get Silver in U-14 Open and U-18 Girls Respectively.

The prize distribution ceremony was an elegant and short function where top 10 ranked players were awarded with medals and plaques.

WFM Jishitha D (2086) of India won her fifth game in a row to capture the top honour with 9 points, to leave the highly rated top seed WFM Assaubayeva Bibisara (2421) of Russia in 2nd place on the concluding day of the WYCC – 2017 played at Montevideo, Uruguay. Jishita defeated Ehsani Yassamin of USA. The fight among the two Russians on Board 1 between WIM Solozhenkina Elizaveta and Bibisara ended a draw. Solozhenkina got Bronze on a better tie-break.

In the U -14 Open section FIDE Master Erigaisi Arjun of India defeated Brozel Sacha of England to ensure the Silver Medal with 9 points to his credit. The Gold Medal went to the Mongolian FM Batsuren Dambasuren who scored a last round win to take his tally to 10 points. The Bronze medal went to the CM Teclaf Pawel of Poland who finished on 8.5 points.

WIM Sakshi Chitlange managed to win against WFM Antolak Julia of Poland to finish clear second with 8 points. Her teammate WFM Arpita Mukherjee managed only a draw against the Gold Medal winner Unuk Laura of Slovenia. Laura finished on 9.5 points. There was a tie for Bronze in which Arpita slipped to 4th due to inferior tiebreak. The Bronze went to WIM Vazquez Maccarini Danitza of Puerto Rico.

Rankings of Indian players:

U – 14 Girls

1. Jishitha D 9 pts

9. Jyothsna L 7 pts

10. Salonika Saina 7 pts

14. Mrudul Dehankar 6.5 pts

U – 14 Open

2. Erigaisi Arjun 9 pts

4. Anuj Shrivatri 8 pts

19. Koustav Chatterjee 6.5 pts

U – 16 Girls

14. Harshita Guddanti 6.5 pts

25. Meenal Gupta 5.5 pts

41. Toshali V 4.5 pts

U – 16 Open

9. Mitrabha Guha 7 pts

14. Rajdeep Sarkar 6.5 pts

41. Vatsal Singhania 5 pts

U – 18 Girls

2. Sakshi Chitlange 8 pts

4. Arpita Mukherjee 7.5 pts

U – 18 Open

8. Kaustuv Kundu 7 pts

15 Sai Vishwesh C 6.5 pts

19. Karthik V 6 pts