Aravindh and Uurtsaikh Asian Champions

The Asian Champions
2016 Asian Junior Champions

Aravindh and Uurtsaikh Asian Champions
By Gopakumar

New Delhi (11 May 16) :-  Grandmaster Aravindh Chithambaram of India and Uurinntuya Uurtsaikh of Mongolia became Champions in the Asian Junior Open and Girls Championship which concluded here at Park Plaza on Wednesday.

In a pulsating final round, overnight sole leader Grandmaster S L Narayanan drew with International Master Mousavi Seyed Khalil and this result helped Aravindh to catch up with Narayanan after defeating Nima Javanbakht of Iran. Both players tied at seven points but direct encounter tie break helped Aravindh to clinch the title while Naryanan satisfied with runner-up position.  Harsha Bharathakoti completed the all Indian podium finish after defeating International Master Mosadeghpour Masoud of Iran in final round.

Meanwhile the girls section had more dramas as Mongolian girl Uurinntuya Uurtsaikh produced an emphatic victory over top seed Vaishali to lift the winner’s trophy while Nandhidhaa V finished as runner up after defeating overnight joint leader K Priyanka. R Vaishali not found a place in the podium as Ivana Maria Furtado won the bronze medal by securing final round victory over Bala Kannamma P.

In the Asian Junior Blitz Championship, S L Naryanan won the gold medal while Arjun Kalyan and Aravindh Chithambaram secured Silver and Bronze medals respectively.  R Vaishali secured the yellow metal in girl’s category while Varshini finished second and Bala Kannamma won the Bronze medal.

In a colourful closing ceremony, Shri. Manish Sisodia, Deputy Chief Minister of Government of Delhi gave away the prizes in presence of Shri. Hisham Al Taher, General Secretary Asian Chess Federation; Shri. Bharat Singh, Deputy President Asian Chess Federation; Group Captain J Rajendra, Deputy Judge Advocate General Indian Air Force; Shri. Luxman Wijesuriya, General Secretary Chess Federation of Sri Lanka; Shri. Narayan Das Gamal, Vice President Nepal Chess Association and Shri. AK Verma, Secretary Delhi Chess Association.

Important Results (Indian otherwise stated) :-
Open Round-9 :-  IM Mousavi Seyed Khalil of Iran (6.5) drew with GM S L Narayanan (7); GM Aravindh Chithambaram (7) beat FM Nima Javanbakht of Iran (6); FM Rajdeep Sarkar (6) drew with GM Karthikeyan Murali (6.5); Harsha Bharathakoti (6.5) beat IM Mosadeghpour Masoud (5.5); Rakesh Kumar Nayak (5) lost to Arjun Kalyan (6); Anish Gandhi (5) lost to Rahul Srivatshav P (6); Sammed Jaykumar Shete (6) beat Rajesh Nayak (5); IM Krishna Teja N (6) beat Rakesh Kumar Jena (5); Srijit Paul (5) lost to Shailesh Dravid (5.5); Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad (4.5) lost to Saurabh Anand (5.5).

Girls Round-9 :-  WFM Vaishali R (6) lost to Uurinntuya Uurtsaikh of Mongolia (7); Priyanka K (6) lost to WIM Nandhidhaa PV (6.5); Hashita Guddanti (6) drew with WCM Chandreyee Hajra (6); Bala Kannamma P (5) lost to WIM Ivana Maria  Furtado (6.5); Hamedi Nia Vesal of Iran (6) beat Shanya Mishra (5); Priyanka Nutakki (5.5) drew with WIM Sakshi Chitlange (5.5); Ananya Suresh (6) beat Sunyuktha CMN (5); Michelle Catherina (5) drew with WFM Varshini V (5); Priyamvada Karamcheti (5) drew with Shweta Gole (5); Sapale Saloni (4.5) drew with Rindhiya V (5).