Soumya Swaminathan Wins National Women’s Challenger

The Sakthan Thampuran College of Mathematics and Arts 40th National Women’s Challenger was won by former world junior girls champion Soumya Swaminathan of Pune at Thrissur on August 3, 2013.

Soumya started as the second seed and defeated the top seed Padmini Rout to win the event by a clear one point margin. She suffered a defeat at the hands of Nisha Mohota.

Three players, seeded in the top eight who did not make the top eight include Kiran Mohanty, B Pratyusha and Rucha Pujari. Three players from outside the top eight who qualified include G.K. Monnisha, Michelle Catherina and Ivana Furtado.

Former two-time world under-10 girls champion Ivana Furtado finished seventh and picked up one of the eight qualifying slots. Seed 14 Ivana also remained the only undefeated player.

This event was organised by the Chess Association of Thrissur from July 26 to August 3, 2013 at Kovilakam Residency, Thrissur. The chief arbiter was Nitin Shenvi and the tournament director was N.V. Balagopalan.

Leading rating gainers: Hinduja Reddy +48.6, U Ashwini +39.8, G.K. Monnisha +38, M Mahalakshmi +34, Rutuja Bakshi +30,

Rating losers: S Harini -43.8, Meghna CH -24.9, R Preethi -24.1, R Vaishali -23.4, S.V. Sathya Priya -22, Padmini Rout -19.5, Rucha Pujari -18.1, J Saranya -17.7, Bhakti Kulkarni -16.6.

Final placings: 1 Soumya Swaminathan 9/11; 2-3. WGM Swati Ghate, WGM Bhakti Kulkarni 8 each; 4-12. IM Nisha Mohota, WFM G.K. Monnisha, WGM Padmini Rout, WIM Ivana Furtado, Michelle Catherina (all qualified till here), Bodda Pratyusha, WGM Kiran Mohanty, WFM R Bharathi, WGM Aarthie Ramaswamy 7.5 each… 90 players.