Deviatkin surprised by Nasybullina

Deviatkin surprised by Nasybullina

Mumbai 27 December 2016: Russian WFM Alfia Nasybullina shocked eleventh seed GM Dimitri Deviatkin also of Russia with the black pieces. In the biggest upset of the first round, Deviatkin played an Anti-Sicilian but later on misplayed his position to end up an exchange down and eventually lose. Nasybullina was rated close to 300 points below Deviatkin. In the other notable upsets in the first round, Mumbai lad Mithil Ajgaonkar, rated just 2216, held second-seeded Italian GM David Alberto who is rated 2574.

There were a couple of notable draws in the games from the top tables. Delhi boys Puneet Jaiswal and Nishant Malhotra, and West Bengal’s Debrashi Mukherjee held higher rated players. While Debarshi held Belgian GM Vadim Malakhatko, Puneet drew with Polish GM Jacek Stopa and Nishant drew with IM Narayanan Srinath, the highest rated international master in the fray.

In the second round of the Junior tournament, third-seeded Bengal boy Aronyak Ghosh was held to a draw by Om Manish Kadam. Kadam was rated more than 700 points below Aronyak. Notably, this is the richest junior (under-13) tournament in the world with the prize fund of Rs. 8 lakhs. For more information, please visit

Results for open Round 01:

Sandipan Chanda (2593) IND bt. WIM Parnali S Dharia (2219) IND; Mithil Ajgaonkar (2216) IND drew GM David Alberto (2574) ITA; GM Ghosh Diptayan (2570) IND bt. Snehal Bhosale (2214); IND FM Mohammad Fahad Rahman (2213) BAN lost to GM Bernadskiy Vitaliy (2540) UKR; GM Sivuk Vitaly (2540) UKR bt. Jayakumaar S (2211) IND; Patil Pratik (2208) IND lost to GM Movsziszian Karen (2523) ARM; GM Tukhaev Adam (2516) UKR bt. Likhit Chilukuri (2206) IND; Debarshi Mukherjee (2194) IND drew with GM Malakhatko Vadim (2507) BEL; GM Horvath Adam (2501) HUN bt. Senthil Maran K (2193) IND; Prasannaa.S (2191) IND lost to GM Czebe Attila (2500) HUN

Results for Junior Round 02:

Gukesh D (1) beat Tarunika P (1); Vishwa Vasnawala (1) lost to FM Mohammad Fahad Rahman (1); Aronyak Ghosh (1) drew Kadam Om Manish (1); Kriti Mayur Patel (1) lost to Shelke Sankarsha (1); Pranav V (1) beat Bartakke Aditya (1); Ved Shubham (1) lost to Sreeshwan Maralakshikari (1); Anuj Shrivatri (1) beat Faiz Khan (1); Bagwe Gaurang (1) lost to Jishitha D (1); Aditya Guhagarkar (1) beat Athalye Varad (1); Harshavardhan G B (1) beat Butala Krish (1)