Vaibhav Suri shocked in Parsvnath opener

N SurendranVaibhav Suri shocked in Parsvnath opener

New Delhi (09 Jan 14) :- Grandmaster and world under-18 Bronze medalist Vaibhav Suri suffered a shock defeat at the hands of unheralded N Surendran in the opening round of the premier section of 12th Parsvnath Delhi International Grandmasters Chess Tournament that got underway here.

It turned out to be a tough day for Suri who could not match the guile of Surendran in the final stages of the game and fell under time pressure that proved crucial. Surendran used his resources and benefitted from an error by Suri to cause the biggest upset in the first round.

Rajib Dhar caused another upset at the expense of Grandmaster S Arun Prasad. Playing white, Dhar was lucky as Arun Prasad blundered his queen from a seemingly drawn endgame.

Delhi youngster Aradhya Garg started off on a positive note holding International Master G A Stany to a creditable draw.

Chief Guest Air Commodore Amar Babu VM inaugurating the event by making customary first move agianst top seed Kravstiv Martyn.Meanwhile for most of the higher ranked players it was business as usual as they coasted to easy victories. Highest rated Indian in the fray, Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta started his campaign outclassing Ulugbek Tillyaev of Uzbekistan from the black side of a Sicilian Classical. Abhijeet got the complications he was hoping for in the middle game and had no troubles in securing the full point.

Another Delhi Grandmaster Sahaj Grover also had an easy victory over Parab Ritviz. At the top of the tables, Martyn Kravitsiv of Ukraine displayed his endgame prowess to overcome the challenge of Matta Vinay Kumar while second seed Levan Pantsulaia of Gerogia had it easy against K K Chatterjee.

Earlier in a befitting opening ceremony, Air Commodore Amar Babu VM, Air Officer Commanding Air Force Station New Delhi inaugurated the event by making the customary first move against top seed Kravstiv Martyn in presence of Shri. Bharat Singh, CEO All India Chess Federation; Prof. Rakesh K Mudgal, Pro-Vice Chancellor Theerthanker Mahaveer University; Group Captain J Rajendra VSM, Chief Administrative Officer Air Force Station New Delhi; Shri. Sunit Sachar, Senior Vice President, Parsvnath Developers and Shri. AK Verma, Secretary Delhi Chess Association.

Vaibhav Suri & N SurendranImportant Results (Round-1) (Indians otherwise stated) :- Matta Vinay Kumar (0) lost to GM Kravtsiv Martyn of UKR (1); GM Levan Pantsulaia of GEO (1) beat Chatterjee K K (0); Tillyaev Ulugbek of UZB (0) lost to GM Abhijeet Gupta (1); GM Oliver Barbosa of PHI (1) beat Vikramjit Singh (0); IM Anup Deshmukh (0) lost to GM Lalith Babu M R (1); GM Alexander Evdokimov of RUS (1) beat Pranav Vijay (0); L Imocha (0) lost to GM Merab Gagunashvili of GEO (1); GM Vaibhav Suri (0) lost to N Surendran (1); G B Joshi (0) lost to GM John Paul Gomez of PHI (1); GM Tornike Sanikidze of GEO (1) beat Niranjan Navalgund (0); Bobir Sattarov of UZB (.5) drew with GM Deep Sengupta (.5); GM Venkatesh M R (1) beat FM Raghunandan K S (0); Karthik V (0) lost to GM Marat Dzhumaev of UZB (1); GM Valeriy Neverov of UKR (1) beat WFM Sarvinoz Kurbonboeva of UZB (0); Rajib Dhar (1) beat GM Arun Prasad (0); GM Sahaj Grover (1) beat Ritiz Parab (0); Sekar B (0) lost to GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (1); IM Karthikeyan Murali (1) beat WIM Ivana Maria Furtado (0); Atul Dahale (0) lost to GM Eldar Gasanov of UKR (1). GM Laxman R R (1) beat Rohan Ahuja (0); Kayastha Madan Krishna of NEP (1) beat IM Saptarshi Roy (0); GM Francois Fargere of FRA (1) beat Lakshmi Narayanan M V (0); IM Swayams Mishra (0) lost to Pawan Dodeja (1); Virender Singh Negi (0) lost to IM Shyam Nikil P (1).


Click here for live games