Thirteen Grandmasters headline Commonwealth Championships

The 2018 Commonwealth Championships are all set to start today. The playing venue is Leela Ambience Convention Hotel, Central Business District, Maharaja Surajmal Marg, Delhi.

The main event is the Commonwealth Championship which also incorporates the Commonwealth Women’s Championship. Junior titles within this event are the Commonwealth Under 20 and Under 18 events for both male and female players. There are separate junior events at U16, U14, U12, U10, and U08 levels.

GM Deep Sengupta is the top seed. The Open event witnesses the participation of 13 GMs and 15 IMs. Players from 12 Commonwealth countries have come to participate in the different events.

Starting rank

No. Name FideID FED Rtg Club/City
1 GM Sengupta Deep 5008352 IND 2565 PSPB
2 GM Vaibhav Suri 5045185 IND 2556 Delhi
3 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 5011132 IND 2531 Railways
4 GM Lalith Babu M R 5024595 IND 2529 PSPB
5 GM Vishnu Prasanna. V 5030692 IND 2525 Tamilnadu
6 GM Debashis Das 5024854 IND 2522 Odisha
7 GM Swapnil S. Dhopade 5019184 IND 2495 Railways
8 GM Thejkumar M. S. 5009154 IND 2495 Railways
9 GM Kunte Abhijit 5002265 IND 2494 PSPB
10 IM Karthik Venkataraman 25006479 IND 2475 AP

Click here for the full list